Skip to content

What’s this and what am i supposed to do with it?

May 1, 2012

Hello there and welcome to my blog’s introductory post.

What is this blog? This blog is the result of reading through BioBreak’s Newbie Blog Initiative post. I felt compelled to create my own blog, something i already had a go at, back in… i forgot what year it was, but it was a long time ago. Needless to say, it didn’t go well last time. Causes? Unknown, unimportant really. Will this one make it better? Hopefully yes 🙂 A few words about myself. My name is Pedro, i’m from Portugal, currently studying Economics, and i’m a MMO enthusiast with very little time on my hands to play 😛

Now for the second part of the question… Well i guess im supposed to write about MMO’s, in general or specific, so i got the main idea down, all i need is some content. I have been playing video games since 1995, ranging from the old 1P SNES games to the 12 million player MMO behemoth WoW. Am i somewhat of an expert in video games? Not even close, i play the games i like because i like them, as meaningless as that may seem.

So why do i want to make a blog about MMO’s? Well because it’s a genre that i dreamt about for years when i was younger and didn’t know / couldn’t play any of the MMO pioneering games like DAoC, Ultima Online, etc. Then in 2004 light was shed my way. World of Warcraft came out and swept me (and thousands of other people) of my feet. I started playing it early 2005 and stopped playing when it’s first expansion The Burning Crusade was about to be released, in very late 2006. I could tell you a lot more about my experience with WoW, but i’ll leave that to another post (there will be another post right? :P)

What will i talk about in my blog then? Well mostly my opinions and feelings about MMO’s in general and a very specific one: Guild Wars 2. That’s right, the sequel to a very underestimated MMO about as old as WoW, that although not having as much accomplishment as the latter, did sell over 6 million copies worldwide. If you play any MMO or are just interested in the genre you probably already heard or read about GW2. If you haven’t, i recommend you to go to www.GuildWars2.com ASAP and soak in all the information there 😀

I first heard about GW2 a few years ago, i’d say about 2008 or 2009, and i’ll be honestly, i didn’t think much of it at the time. Having played the GW1 trial (which i didn’t grow very fond of to be honest) my initial thought about GW2 was “Skip”. Last year, by this time of the year, i read about it again somewhere, and decided to check it out. I’ve been following it very closely ever since, and as soon as the first Beta Weekend Event was announced i pre-purchased my copy. Now i’ll post here my opinions and feelings about this awesome game 😀

As i mentioned above, i will also post some stuff about my experience with World of Warcraft. I don’t have any screenshots from that time (viruses and other problems made me format my hard drive so i lost everything i had) but i still remember a big chunk of it 🙂 So expect a few reminiscing stories of a young boy in love with the Warcraft universe and struggling to keep his jaw from dropping to the floor 😀

So that’s been my first post, and quite a lenghty one 😛 A few last notes, as you probably have noticed already, i don’t have any experience in writing, much less in English (which isn’t my native language), so bear with me on that issue. Also, expect a lot of rambling in these posts, i tend to deviate from my initial topic as i’m writing since none of this is planned ahead.

Thank you for reading through this, i hope you come back and enjoy 🙂

12 Comments
  1. Congratulations on starting your new blog! I’m looking forward to what you have to say about GW2 and whatever else you are playing.

  2. Hello! I’m Victor from Games and Geekery!

    Just wanted to say that you shouldn’t worry about grammar too much, so long as you have your thoughts in order. Do that, and the grammar will be easier to fix later on if needed.

    More power to you!

    • Thank you for the advice, ill try not to ramble too much in my posts x) i’ve added your blog to my link list if you dont mind 🙂

  3. battlechicken permalink

    Yay! Welcome to the blogosphere! Someone on my Twitterfeed was commenting today that they hadn’t seen as many people talking about GW2 after the beta weekend as they expected, and then here you are! I’d say you have great timing. 🙂

    Good luck in your blogging endeavors!

    • Yeah i felt that too, whats up with that? Maybe a lot of people are still catching up on the missed hours of sleep from the weekend 😀 Mind if put a link to your blog on my blogroll? 🙂

      • battlechicken permalink

        Not a bit!

        And sleep? What is that? 😛

      • Haha, i surely forgot the meaning of it this weekend 😀

  4. Hiyas! Welcome to the blogosphere. Don’t worry too much about English being your second language! Some of my favorite bloggers speak English as their second language! Keep up the good work and have fun!

    • Thanks for the kind words 😉 Im a bit perfectionist when it comes to writing in English, but i’m subject to failing a lot 😛

Leave a Reply

